• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Level 1: Handgun Safety/Handgun Selection Seminar

Our most popular program since 2002
For a nominal tuition fee of $75, students in the Handgun Safety Seminar have the opportunity to learn vital information on deadly force laws and the state laws regarding ownership and possession of handguns, along with learning the basics of how to handle and shoot your handgun safely and competently.

If you already own a handgun, we hope you will attend this valuable class to learn how to be a safer gun owner, and master the fundamentals of marksmanship. If you do not own a handgun and are interested in learning about handguns and gun safety you are invited to reserve one of our .22 caliber loaner guns. Please be sure to call, email or include a note in the "Comments" section of the online purchase form indicating your need for a loaner. Students who are considering purchasing their own handgun are encouraged to participate in the handgun selection portion of this class. When the Safety Seminar is over, if you wish you may stay for an extra hour and learn about ten excellent self-defense handguns as well as shoot them. This add-on costs $20 (please bring cash) to cover the cost of ammunition. You do not need reservations for this additional session in advance; just remain behind at the end of the Safety Seminar. We want to help our students find the handgun that will best serve their needs and fit them properly.


This is an adult level course. Students must be 18 years of age or older, free of criminal background, and legally able to own or be in possession of handguns. Students must sign a statement comfirming that they can legally possess guns before participating in the class. The student must complete the 3 hour classroom session before going to the range for the live-fire training (both are at the same facility). Seminars start promptly at 10:00 a.m., and run until approximately 5:00 p.m. The Onalaska range is approximately 2 1/4 hours and 1 3/4 hours from downtown Seattle or Portland, but give yourself a little extra time in case you make a wrong turn.

Pre-enrollment is strictly required: It is not okay to just show up. You must pre-register, either over the phone or online. The classes fill very quickly so we recommend you call well in advance. Confirmation information will be sent to you by mail, including a map to our location along with any other information you need before attending class. Please note the following details:

  • Women who are pregnant or nursing may not participate in live-fire training, due to risks from lead exposure and loud noise.
  • Each student will be required to sign a statement that they are legally entitled to own handguns prior to participation in the class. Thus, this class is not appropriate for individuals required to complete court-mandated or court-ordered firearms safety training.

Class Dates:

September 16, 2017
October 21, 2017
November 18, 2017
February 17, 2018
March 11, 2018
April 14, 2018
May 13, 2018
June 16, 2018
August 16, 2018
September 8, 2018
October 7, 2018

TUITION: $75
Register Now

What to bring

Students should bring their own good quality handgun in a secure carrying case (unless you have reserved one of our training handguns), and 50 rounds of full metal jacketed (FMJ) factory ammunition (Please, no steel-cased ammunition). Unless the student has a license to carry a concealed handgun, the gun must be transported unloaded in a case or other opaque, secure container, out of their immediate reach while in their car. Student should also bring wrap-around eye protection, hearing protection and a brimmed ball cap, as well as their lunch.

Classes Starting On

Sat Oct 21, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sun Oct 22, 2017
Concealed Carry 101-Class Full!
Sat Oct 28, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 04, 2017
Handgun Retention-Class Full!
Sun Nov 05, 2017
Advanced Handgun Retention
Sat Nov 18, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Feb 17, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Feb 24, 2018
Handgun Retention
Sat Mar 03, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Mar 03, 2018
Mini Baton/Pepper Spray
Sun Mar 11, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Mar 24, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Mar 31, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Apr 14, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Apr 28, 2018
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat May 05, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun May 06, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sun May 13, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Fri Jun 01, 2018
Advanced Defensive Handgun
Sun Jun 10, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Accuracy
Sat Jun 16, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jun 16, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Jun 23, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Fri Jul 06, 2018
IDPA Boot Camp
Sun Jul 15, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Moving Targets/Moving Shooters
Sat Aug 04, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Aug 04, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun Aug 05, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Aug 18, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Aug 25, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Sep 08, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Fri Sep 14, 2018
Advanced Defensive Handgun
Sat Sep 22, 2018
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sun Sep 30, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Tune Up
Sat Oct 06, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Speed Handgun
Sat Oct 06, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sun Oct 07, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Oct 20, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun Oct 21, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Oct 27, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 03, 2018
Handgun Retention
Sun Nov 04, 2018
Advanced Handgun Retention

Selected Classes




No Classes Selected.

(C) The Firearms Academy of Seattle, Inc. | Developed By Images by Murray